tags: yu oda

SCENATET: Wow and Flutter

Tuesday, April 25th, 2017


Denmark’s buzzy SCENATET makes its official New York debut with a potent program that belies the cozy Danish stereotype of ‘Hygge.’ Along with the twitchy improvised grooves of Yu Oda and the strobe-funk theatrics of Kaj Duncan David’s Computer Music, highlights include the first of this year’s MATA commissions, a world premiere by Eric Wubbels. Also on tap: the hermetic canons of Daniel Tacke’s musica ricercata | musica poetica, Turkish composer Murat Çolak’s Orchid, an octet by rising Danish star Christian Winther Christensen, and German composer Martin Grütter’s Messer Engle Atem Kling (Cleaver Angel Breathing ‘Ding’).

with support from the Danish Composers´ Society´s Production Pool/KODA´s Cultural Funds.


Tuesday, April 25
8PM at the Kitchen, 512 W 19th St, NYC

Tickets available here

Eric Wubbels (USA): New Work (2017), MATA Festival Commission
YU Oda (Japan/The Netherlands): Everybody is Brainwashed (2014), AP
Daniel Tacke (USA): musica ricercata | musica poetica  (2013), NYP
Martin Grütter (Germany): Messer Engel Atem Kling (2011), AP
Christian Winther Christensen (Denmark): Chorale (2017), WP
Kaj Duncan David (Denmark): Computer Music (2014/16), AP
Murat Çolak (Turkey/USA): Orchid (2017), WP

Yu Oda

Friday, March 3rd, 2017

 Yu Oda (b.1983) is a composer currently living in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. His activities include working with various ensembles/musicians as a composer and performing in an acoustic-techno band “Project 128” as DJ/Live electronics.

Within the same aesthetics, his compositions vary in styles and are characterized in exploring groove and sound colour mixed with certain tonality. They have been internationally performed in a wide range of occasions: from international festivals, or religious ceremonies, to classical concert halls and underground clubs. His works have been nominated for Toonzetters (2012), Gaudeamus Prize (2011), as a finalist of Henriette Bosmansprijs and Tera de Marez Oyensprijs (2011), and awarded for the 2nd prize in Young Composers Meeting (2012) and honorable mention of the 32nd Irino Prize.

In the acoustic techno band “Project 128”, he composes, arranges, or improvises music with other members and performs as DJ/live electronics. Exploring and mixing sound characters of acoustic and electric instruments, the project is searching for a new type of groove and method of composing music.

Oda was born in Japan and started his musical activity playing and composing in a rock band. He has studied composition and graduated from California State University, Northridge, and Conservatorium van Amsterdam. In Amsterdam, he co-founded Amsterdam-based new music ensembles, “Looptail” and “Amsterdam Collage Ensemble”, and worked as a composer and artistic director.