tags: nikolet burzynska

plus 1

Thursday, April 27th, 2017

Three-dimensional works for one or two players. Thursday’s MATA Festival concert opens with Oleg Elagin’s space age electronic fanfare, The Formation of New Sensual Experience, setting the tone for an evening of evolution and innovation. Samuel Cedillo’s Monólogo III refashions the viola in an incredible tour de force of expression. The consummate Daniel Lippel brings elegance to the shifting guitar figures of Karin Wetzel’s Amorphose II and Basque composer Mikel Urquiza’s dialogues with Dowland, Belarretan. The evening reaches for the heavens with Nikolet Burzyńska’s Cold burning out, played by TIGUE’s Matt Evans, and Liisa Hirsch’s ethereal Cloud Tones for piano “glides” and viola. 

Dan Lippel, guitar; Matt Evans, percussion, Philip White, live electronics;

Thursday, April 27
8PM at the Kitchen, 512 W 19th St, NYC

Tickets available here

Oleg Elagin (Russia): Formation of New Sensual Experience (2016), WP
Liisa Hirsch (Estonia): Cloud Tones (2015), AP
Samuel Cedillo (Mexico): Monólogo III (2009)
Karin Wetzel (Switzerland/Germany): Amorphose II (2012), AP
Mikel Urquiza (Spain/France): Belarretan (2014) AP
Nikolet Burzynska (Poland): Cold Burning Out (2011) AP

Nikolet Burzynska

Friday, March 3rd, 2017

Nikolet Burzyńska is a Polish composer appreciated by Hilary Hahn in her call for scores and co-author of “Pianostasy” for 21 pianos and symphonic orchestra performed by Kalisz Philharmonic. Her music has been performed by such artists as Musiques Nouvelles, New Music Orchestra, Hilary Hahn, Miranda Cuckson, Polish Radio Orchestra and Szymon Bywalec, Orkest de ereprijs and Rob Vermeulen, Voix de Strass, Kalisz Philharmonic, Silesian Philharmonic and Massimiliano Caldi. Nikolet’s compositions have been heard worldwide including: IRCAM (salle Varèse), Palais du Rhin, Warsaw Chamber Opera, “Seoul Computer Music Festival”, “Festival Internacional Compositores de Hoje” in Brasil, “La semaine du son” in France, “Next” in Austria, “Young Composers Meeting” in Holland, “Warsaw Autumn” in Poland, “Druskomanija” in Lithuania and on WQXR, WEFT, Accent 4, Polish Radio Programme 1.

She received prizes in: “27 pieces: the Hilary Hahn Encores”, Tactus Young Composers Forum in Belgium, Sorodha Composition Competition, Competition for the 90th anniversary of the III Silesian Revolt for the piece „Silesian Pyromagma” for choir and orchestra, 1st International Composition Competition “Patri Patriae” for the piece “Flamma” for female choir and orchestra, to name a few.

During her studies in The Fryderyk Chopin University of Music, Strasbourg Conservatory and additional courses she worked with such composers as Mark Andre, Louis Andriessen, Jeroen D’hoe, Jung Hee Choi, Marcin Błażewicz, Stanisław Moryto, Tadeusz Wielecki, Martijn Padding, Richard Ayres. She was granted by the Prime Minister Scholarship, Marshal of the Silesian Voivodeship Scholarship.