tags: Michalis Paraskakis

Unreasonable Visions

Thursday, April 16th, 2015

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 2.03.29 PMThe Momenta Quartet joins with friends for a fascinating evening of games, visions, and sublimities. From Teheran comes Idin Samimi Mofakham’s transcendent Mirage, a slowly unfolding apparition for percussion and trio, while Eric Nathan’s vision for the quartet is heard in the compelling Four to One. Impossibilities are ever-present in Michalis Paraskakis’s Not Yet II, in which a clarinet’s subtle microtonal bendings, blendings, and bleatings challenge the quartet. Oboe and percussion join the fray for Daniel Moreira’s Das Nein-Doch Spiel: a persuasive take on the unwinnable children’s game of yes and no. While Guy Barash’s ambitious String Quartet poses its own challenges. The evening closes with a new work from MATA’s own Alex Weiser.

Michalis Paraskakis (Greece): Not Yet II (2012-14), WP
Daniel Moreira (Brazil): Das Nein-Doch Spiel (2011, rev. 2012), AP
Guy Barash (Israel / USA): String Quartet No. 1 “Wrong Ocean” (2012)
Alex Weiser (USA): New Work for Clarinet and String Quartet (2015), WP
Eric Nathan (USA): Four To One (2011)
Idin Samimi Mofakham (Iran): Mirage (2012)  

Tickets Available Here

Michalis Paraskakis

Friday, February 27th, 2015


Born in Athens, he studied Graphic Arts and Design, but music – piano, singing and above all composition – gained more and more ground in his life. However the visual background is very often apparent, as he likes composing every aspect of his works, from the score, to the final staging. He loves the small sonic “flaws” that he uses as raw material for his works.

He finished Bachelor and Masters in Composition in the Royal Consevatory of The Hague with Yannis Kyriakides, Martijn Padding and Cornelis de Bondt, and singing with Manon Heynes, as well as Rebecca Stewart. He has collaborated with ASKO/Shoenberg Ensemble, ASKO Kammerkoor, Nieuw Ensemble, Nederlands Dans Theatre, Athens State Orchestra, Greek National Choir etc.