tags: Lisa Coons

Calder Quartet

Tuesday, April 20th, 2010

Tuesday, April 20
LPR Main Space


Calder Quartet

Nathan DavisSkrzyp Skrzyn [2010] (World Premiere)
2010 MATA Festival Commission
Co-Commissioned by the Carlsbad Music Festival

Fabian Svensson
Singing and Dancing [2008]
Lisa CoonsCythére (a trauma ballet in two parts) [2010] (World Premiere)
Daniel WohlGlitch [2009]

The Los Angeles-based Calder String Quartet presents a full-evening of World and New York premieres. Composers include NYC-based composer Lisa Coons’ Cythère (a trauma ballet in two parts), Swede Fabian Svensson’s puckishly-titled Singing and Dancing (written for and premiered by the Calders), Daniel Wohl’s textural study Glitch (also written for the group), and a world premiere by rising New York composer Nathan Davis, co-commissioned by MATA and Carlsbad Music Festival

MATA Sound Works

LPR Gallery Bar

MATA continues its annual presentation of sound works with daily presentations of multi-channel in Le Poisson Rouge’s Gallery Bar. Works by 2010 Commissionee Matthew Wright, MATA AD Christopher McIntyre, Antye Greie (aka AGF), and Bjørn Erik Haugen.

Lisa Coons

Wednesday, April 7th, 2010

Cythére: a trauma ballet in two parts [2010] (World Premiere)
Performed by the Calder Quartet, April 20

Lisa R. Coons studied composition at the University of Missouri-Kansas City during her undergraduate degree and received her master’s from SUNY Stony Brook. Presently a graduate student at Princeton University, her portfolio includes music for acoustic and electronic instruments, turntables, traditional ensembles and even amplified percussion sculptures. She received an ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award in 2005 for her string quartet Awkward Music and an Honorable Mention in 2009 for Cross-Sections, her electric guitar quartet. Lisa lives in New York and is a member of the composers collective called, simply, The Collected.

Cythére: a trauma ballet in two parts
1. Cutter

2. Skin/Landscape

Dither Electric Guitar Quartet – Taylor Levine & James Moore, curators

Wednesday, January 21st, 2009

Wednesday, January 21, 2009 at 8 PM

Issue Project Room
@ The (OA) Can Factory
232 3rd Street, 3rd Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11215

MATA Interval 2.3
Featuring Dither Electric Guitar Quartet:
Simon Kafka
Taylor Levine
Joshua Lopes
James Moore
Gavin Harper
Matt Hough
David Linaburg
Brett Parnell
Geremy Schulick
Kenji Shinagawa

Nothing Changes by Simon Kafka

Pantagruel by Joshua Lopes

100 by Florent Ghys

X-Sections by Lisa Coons

Telegraph by Wil Smith

— intermission —

Jumeaux by Bryce Dessner and Aaron Dessner
Taylor Levine and James Moore

Deprivation Music No. 5: l’amour du pain by Eric km Clark

Gavin Harper, Matt Hough, Simon Kafka, Taylor Levine,
David Linaburg, Joshua Lopes, James Moore, Brett Parnell,
Geremy Schulick, Kenji Shinagawa