MATA Continued


MATA Continued: Aizuri Quartet and Ilari Kaila
Monday, December 17th, 2018 | 8:00 pm
ShapeShifter Lab | 18 Whitwell Place | Brooklyn

New York’s acclaimed “leading showcase for vital new music by emerging composers” (The New Yorker), MATA, is excited to announce the first concert of MATA Continued, a new alumni-focused project devoted to giving composers previously presented by MATA the opportunities and tools to make larger artistic statements through longer-form concerts and special projects.  MATA Director Todd Tarantino explains, “MATA isn’t just a one-time thing. The third item of our mission statement is to ‘support’ early career composers. For our alumni, in particular, this takes many forms: revisiting their work for our MATA’s Greatest Hits program, fiscal sponsorship of their own projects, invitations to serve on juries and be mentors in our MATA Jr. program, and now, through events like this one.” The inaugural concert will feature the work of Finnish composer Ilari Kaila, whose Kellojen Kumarrus was featured on the 2014 MATA Festival.  Through the artistry of the M-Prize winning Aizuri Quartet, alongside special guests flutist Isabel Gleicher and pianist Adrienne Kim, Kellojen Kumarrus will receive a second MATA performance on a program that will showcase the breadth of Kaila’s compositional voice.


The program will last approximately 100 minutes

Tickets available now


Jouhet (WP)
Kellojen Kumarrus (The Bells Bow Down)
Names of Snow
Hum and Drum

All works composed by Ilari Kaila









Performed by

Aizuri Quartet

Ariana Kim and Miho Saegusa, violins
Ayane Kozasa, viola
Karen Ouzounian, cello

Joined by

Isabel Lepanto Gleicher, flute
Adrienne Kim, piano