MATA Interval presents “Transmissions” with the [Switch~ Ensemble]

Friday, May 15th, 2015 - 8:00 pm



Tickets Here

MATA Interval presents “Transmissions,” an evening of multimedia and electroacoustic works that inhabit the underexplored regions that separate acoustic and electronic music, featuring [Switch~ Ensemble], ensemble-in-residence at the Eastman Computer Music Center, and soloists Sophie Burgos, Lucy Dhegrae, and Jeff Gavett on Friday, May 15th at 8:00pm at the DiMenna Center for Classical Music. Capping off the evening will be the staged premiere of Jason Thorpe Buchanan’s Hunger (Part III), a multimedia opera on a libretto of Darcie Dennigan, that was recently presented to critical acclaim in Los Angeles: “an ungodly opera needs ugly music, singers who produce primal sounds, an electric guitar that sounds scraped raw… Buchanan delivers.” (LA Times)

Additional works to be presented include Stylianos Dimou’s trio [Hiss] structure . . .from {with[in} – g], written for [Switch~] in its world premiere, Stefan Prins’s Flesh+Prosthesis #1 in its New York premiere; Wojtek Blecharz’s K’an for steel drum and c.130 sticks and The Map of Tenderness for cello, excerpted from the ‘opera-installation’ Transcryptum, and Zach Sheets’s Seer, in which a bass clarinet communicates with electronics through an accelerometer mounted on the instrument.



Stefan Prins (b. 1979) Flesh+Prosthesis #1            (New York Premiere)

Zach Sheets (b. 1991) Seer (New York Premiere)

Wojtek Blecharz (b. 1981) K’an for steel drum and ca.130 sticks and

            The Map of Tenderness (New York Premiere)

from the ‘opera-installation’ Transcryptum

Stylianos Dimou (b. 1988) [Hiss] structure . . .from {with[in} – g] (World Premiere)

Jason Thorpe Buchanan (b.1986) Hunger (Part III)       (New York Premiere)

from Hunger: A Multimedia Opera in Four Parts