Lisa Coons

Wednesday, April 7th, 2010 - 11:20 am

Cythére: a trauma ballet in two parts [2010] (World Premiere)
Performed by the Calder Quartet, April 20

Lisa R. Coons studied composition at the University of Missouri-Kansas City during her undergraduate degree and received her master’s from SUNY Stony Brook. Presently a graduate student at Princeton University, her portfolio includes music for acoustic and electronic instruments, turntables, traditional ensembles and even amplified percussion sculptures. She received an ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Award in 2005 for her string quartet Awkward Music and an Honorable Mention in 2009 for Cross-Sections, her electric guitar quartet. Lisa lives in New York and is a member of the composers collective called, simply, The Collected.

Cythére: a trauma ballet in two parts
1. Cutter

2. Skin/Landscape